South Sound Partners for Philanthropy

Log in

Leadership in Philanthropy Awards Luncheon

The South Sound Partners for Philanthropy annually recognizes those caring individuals and organizations that generously support philanthropy in the South Sound by honoring them at an awards luncheon. Please check back for information about our 2021 Leadership in Philanthropy Awards Luncheon.


Leadership in Personal Philanthropy

2019 Thomas Henderson

2018 Bron & Tuula Lindgren

2017 Dr. Robert & Lynn Brunton

2016 Ted & Tanya Jernigan

2015 Marsha Tadano Long & Merritt Long
  Mary-Lynne & Marvin Reiner

Leadership in Business Philanthropy

2019 Panowicz Jewelers

2018 Olympia Federal SAvings

2017 Batdorf & Bronson Coffee Roasters

2016 Phillps Burgess PLLC

2015 Obee Credit Union

Philanthropic Community Organization

2019 Gateway Rotary

2018 Kiwanis Club of Olympia Food Bank Garden

2017 Evergreen Christian Community

2016 First United Methodist Church

2015 Olympia Unitarian Universalist Congregation

Next Generation Philanthropy

2019 BOLTS Keystone / Interact Club

2017 Studio West Dance Guild

2016 Ben & Spencer Rex

2015 Lilas, Cedar, Coral, Daisy & Oakland Ogle

Paul Grudis Inspirational Award

2019 Pat Hunter

2018 Virgil & Barbara Clarkson

2017 Valerie Gerst

2016 Carole Jones

2015 Leatta Dahlhoff

2014 Earl McNeil

2013 Vaude de Ville

2012 Earlyse Swift

2011 Sylvia Barclift

2010 Howard "Jack" Gagnon

2009 Tom & Elsa McLain

The list below includes all recipients from previous years in the categories for which they were honored. 

Business of the Year 

2014 Port Blakely Tree Farm

2013 TwinStar Credit Union

2013 Wagner's European Bakery & Café

2012 Washington State Employee Credit Union (WSECU)

2011 Nisqually Tribe (large business)

2011 Ramblin' Jacks/Mercato/I.Talia (small business) 

2010 Harbor Wholesale Grocery, Inc. (large business)

2010 94.5 ROXY (small business)

2009 Berschauer Phillips Construction Company (large business)

2009 McKinney’s Appliance, Inc. (small business)

2008 Providence St. Peter Hospital

2007 Titus-Will, Chevrolet, Cadillac, Hyundai

2006 Confederated Tribes of the Chehalis Reservation and Lucky Eagle Casino

2005 Coldwell Banker-Evergreen Olympic Realty, Inc.

2004 The Boeing Company and The Employees Community Fund

2003 Heritage Bank

2002 Olympia Federal Savings

2001 Miller Brewing Company - Tumwater Brewery * Stormans, Inc.

Philanthropic Group of the Year

2012 West Olympia Rotary Club

2011 Lacey Sunrise Lions Club

2009 Zonta Club of Olympia

2008 Rotary Club of Olympia

2007 Altrusa International of Olympia

2006 Rotary Club of Lacey

2005 The Olympia-Tumwater Foundation

2004 Lacey Lamplighters Lions Club

2003 Kiwanis Club of Olympia

2002 Junior League of Olympia

2001 The Busy Bee with St. John Episcopal Church

Individual/Couple of the Year

2014 Melanie Stewart & Wayne Williams

2014 Laurie Berryman

2013 Jay & Carla Rudd

2012 Rick & Ellen Middleton

2011 Ken & Nancy Anderson

2010 Dr. James & Linnea Bremner

2009 Kimberly & Charles Ellwanger

2008 Phil & Judy Weigand - Margery Sayre

2007 Donald V. Rhodes

2006 Evelyne H. Betti

2005 Rick & Pam Panowicz

2004 Dr. Philip Vandeman * John and Sally Warjone

2003 Steve & Michele Boone

2002 Dennis & Joan Peterson

2001 Hal & Inge Marcus

Family of the Year

2013 The Kiley Family

2012 The Taylor Family 

2011 The Seaman Family

2010 The Greene Family

2008 The Fluetsch Family

2006 The Schmidt Family

2005 The Charneski Family

2003 The Rants Family

2002 The Goldberg Family

2001 The Gavin Family

Young Philanthropist

2013 Mara Harris

2012 Hung Nguyen 

2010 Kaycee Keegan

2009 Kim Vivian

2007 Graeme Paulsen

2005 Malenie Lovaas

2004 Katie Klaniecki

2003 Kendra Ellis * Monique Halgat- Frank

Former Categories(now awards within other categories)

Small Business of the Year

2004 Great Western Supply - The Plant Centre

2003 TAGS - The Williams Group

Foundation of the Year

2003 The Community Foundation of South Puget Sound

2002 The Ben Cheney Foundation

2001 Irving A. Lassen Foundation

Media of the Year

2003 KGY Radio AM & FM

2002 Thurston Community Television

2001 The Olympian

2013 Special Recognition:

Judy Hoefling

Nancy Riordan

Washington State Combined Fund Drive

2021 Award Nomination Form

Submit your nominations of the community members and organizations making a significant impact on your organization and others in the community!

Submit Here

With everything happening during the COVID-19 pandemic, South Sound Partners for Philanthropy would like to recognize those community members and organizations that are supporting our member nonprofits. Please fill out this general form and we will follow up with you in the future for more information for the award selection process.

Leadership in Philanthropy Awards:

  • Personal Philanthropy
    An individual or couple that has supported your organization, and others in the community, in a profound and impactful way.

  • Business Philanthropy
    A local business or company that has supported your organization, and others in the community, in a profound and impactful way.

  • Community Organization
    A local community organization that has supported your organization, and others in the community, in a profound and impactful way.

  • Paul Grudis Inspiration
    An award to recognize volunteers who inspire philanthropy and volunteerism that made a significant impact on your organization.

  • Next Generation Philanthropy
    An award to recognize young philanthropists (individuals or groups) to encourage them on their current path.

(c) 2021 South Sound Partners for Philanthropy

South Sound Partners for Philanthropy
P.O. Box 4182
Tumwater, WA 98501

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software